Alternative Travel?

I spend way too much time dreaming about exploring new places and I’m certainly not the only one. Unfortunately, it might not always be possible for us to convert these dreams into reality. But what if we could?

It was not until recently that I came to know what Google StreetView could do. I was going to visit Europe in less than a month and had to make hostel reservations. While checking out images on Google, I noticed the ‘StreetView’ feature and decided to click on it. I was amazed to discover that I could navigate through the streets. I spent the next hour roaming the ‘virtual’ streets of Prague with the result that when I physically went there I was able to recognize quite a few streets!

With the rate at which technology is progressing, I wonder if someday, virtual travel might become a reality – where physical presence is not required to explore a place. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that this is a real substitute for what we know as travel, it would merely be an ‘aid’ of sorts allowing you to partially quench the thirst for adventure or maybe even serve as inspiration to get you out on the road. As the saying goes, “Half a loaf is better than none”. Lack of time and money, poor health, old age or any other commitment could no longer be a deterrent.

Personally, I think this has great potential. If you’ve never tried it out, just pick a random street in any place you’d like to visit and let your cursor do the driving.

What do you guys think? Is this something you might consider as an option if available? I’d love to hear what you have to say.

Cheers

P.S. I came across this interesting project called HYPERLAPSE Check out the video below.

11 thoughts on “Alternative Travel?

  1. I think that this is a very interesting angle. Technology has opened up a lot of things, all Renaissance works are available in galleries online, same for some projects about Buddhist caving in China. It is a thrilling enriching opportunity, yet I confess that to me travelling is a lot not only going to the adventure but also paradoxically coming to term with the mundane and obvious which you would not expect in an adventure but still is , to me at least 😉 . That is why I still prefer the real thing, yet who knows I will chang my mind as technology progresses… thanks for opening this discussion.

    Like

    • There’s no doubt that the real thing beats a virtual alternative. You can never ‘feel’ through a computer screen. It’s nice to see that travel is a common path but each person sees and seeks different things along their journey. That is perhaps the best aspect of it. It’s entirely personal and unique to you.

      And thanks for taking the time to read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

